Inside IFC Films >

WHITE MATERIAL, SOUL KITCHEN, JOAN RIVERS and FISH TANK honored by The National Board of Review

Posted on Thursday, December 2nd, 2010 by IFC Films News


Today the awards given annually by the National Board of Review were announced, and IFC Films is thrilled to be honored by the organization in 3 categories:

Claire Denis’ WHITE MATERIAL and Fatih Akin’s SOUL KITCHEN were listed among the NBR’s top 5 foreign-language films of the year, JOAN RIVERS: A PIECE OF WORK, directed by Ricki Stern with co-director Annie Sundberg, was named one of the top 5 documentaries, and Andrea Arnold’s FISH TANK was named one of the 10 best independent films.

Congratulations to the casts and crews of these four terrific films!

Below is a full list of the awards given by the National Board of Review:

Best Film: The Social Network
Best Director: David Fincher, The Social Network
Best Actor: Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network
Best Actress: Lesley Manville, Another Year
Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter
Best Supporting Actress: Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom
Best Foreign Language Film: Of Gods and Men
Best Documentary: Waiting for “Superman”
Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3
Best Ensemble Cast: The Town
Breakthrough Performance: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone Debut Directors: Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington, Restrepo
Spotlight Award: Sylvain Chomet and Jacques Tati, The Illusionist
Best Original Screenplay: Chris Sparling, Buried
Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network
Special Filmmaking Achievement Award: Sofia Coppola for writing, directing, and producing Somewhere
William K. Everson Film History Award: Leonard Maltin
NBR Freedom of Expression: Fair Game, Conviction, Howl
Production Design Award: Dante Ferretti, ShutterIsland

Ten Best Films

(in alphabetical order)
Another Year
The Fighter
The King’s Speech
The Town
Toy Story 3
True Grit
Winter’s Bone
Five Best Foreign-Language Films

(in alphabetical order)
I Am Love
Life, Above All
Soul Kitchen
White Material
Five Best Documentaries

(in alphabetical order)
A Film Unfinished
Inside Job
Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work
The Tillman Story
Top Ten Independent Films:

(in alphabetical order)
Animal Kingdom
Fish Tank
The Ghost Writer
Let Me In
Please Give
Youth in Revolt

“This year the NBR honored The Social Network, as well as its director David Fincher, lead actor Jesse Eisenberg and screenwriter Aaron Sorkin. We believe the film portrays a dramatic story that will stand up over time and appeal to many generations,” said NBR President Annie Schulhof. “The NBR screened over 250 films this year, from big studios to small independents, and I think our winners reflect the diversity and goal of the organization, which is to honor excellence in filmmaking. We look forward to celebrating with all our talented honorees on the evening of January 11th and are very pleased to welcome back last year’s host Meredith Vieira.”

This year the National Board of Review, a select group of film enthusiasts, academics, film professionals, and students, screened over 250 films including studio, independent, foreign-language, animated and documentary selections.  These screenings were frequently followed by in-depth discussions with filmmakers, directors, actors, producers, and screenwriters. The NBR was founded as a clearing house for new movies, over a hundred years ago on January 25, 1909, just 13 years after the birth of cinema. Its stated purpose was to endorse films of merit and champion the new “art of the people,” which was transforming America’s cultural life.  Today, the organization is comprised of 110 members, many of whom are past recipients of the NBR student grant program which enables students and young filmmakers to finish their projects and exhibit their work.

Each January, the NBR hosts talented and prestigious members of the film community at its awards gala, honoring achievements in a variety of categories of film, direction, and performance. In addition, the NBR recognizes new voices in filmmaking with its Directorial Debut and Breakthrough Acting Awards and singles out a deserving individual in the film community with The William K. Everson Film History Award, in honor of the pioneering film historian, educator, author, and longtime NBR member.

The 2010 NBR Awards will be hosted by Meredith Vieiraon January 11, 2011 at Cipriani’s 42nd St. in New York City.  Once again, the accounting firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP tabulated the voting ballots.


* Registration is not required
* Your email address will not be displayed

    Stoottstuth says:

    September 1, 2013 at 1:17 PM

    Propecia Circuit City Promo Code For Claritin Fosamax And Dental How Does Make You Feel Tramadol Tablets. Cristian Weight Loss Bible Study Puscifer V Is For Viagra Discount Hydrocodone On Line For Soma Watson New Mexico Cro & Osteoporosis Center . Tums Vs Pepcid Aspirin Reaction Equation . 50 Mg Apo Ranitidine Apcalis Oral Jelly No Prescription Fedex Blog Supplied Tramadol Hcl 50mg Best Weight Loss Advice Gastric Bypass Aspartame & Diabetes Skin Care Rating Natura Mix Ginseng Blend

AMC Networks AMC BBC America IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International